Colloquium Talk Event

Tuesdays -- 11:00 am -- William T. Golden Auditorium (unless otherwise noted)
Coffee served at 10:30 am
Contact for program information: Tony Piro and Shannon Patel

You can find a listing of previous colloquia here. Recordings of the colloquia are available for Carnegie scientists here. Publicly available recordings are listed below.

Clicking the title links to the abstract.

Date

Speaker

Video URL

Tuesday, September 14, 2021 - 11:00am

Prof. Jason Hessels (University of Amsterdam & ASTRON)

Pinpointing fast radio bursts in space and time

Tuesday, September 21, 2021 - 11:00am

Prof. Anna Watts (University of Amsterdam)

A NICER view of neutron stars

Tuesday, October 5, 2021 - 11:00am
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 - 11:00am
Tuesday, October 19, 2021 - 11:00am

Prof. Yamila Miguel (Leiden University)

Unveiling the Secrets of Jupiter with the Juno Mission

Tuesday, October 26, 2021 - 11:15am

Prof. Uros Seljak (Berkeley)

Normalizing Flows for cosmology applications

Tuesday, November 2, 2021 - 11:00am
Tuesday, November 9, 2021 - 11:00am
Tuesday, November 30, 2021 - 11:00am

Prof. Caitlin Casey (UT Austin)

The Rarest Galaxies in the first Two Billion Years

Tuesday, December 7, 2021 - 11:00am
Tuesday, January 25, 2022 - 11:00am

Prof. Jonathan Stern (Tel Aviv University)

Disk galaxies and their Circumgalactic Medium

Tuesday, February 1, 2022 - 11:00am
Tuesday, March 1, 2022 - 11:00am
Tuesday, March 8, 2022 - 11:00am

Dr. Catherine Zucker (Space Telescope Science Institute)

Revealing the Star Formation History of our Solar Neighborhood

Tuesday, March 15, 2022 - 11:00am
Tuesday, March 22, 2022 - 11:00am

Prof. Emily Levesque (University of Washington)

Betelgeuse Is Pretty Cool: Cosmic Questions for our Naked-Eye Neighbor

Tuesday, March 29, 2022 - 11:00am
Tuesday, April 19, 2022 - 11:00am

Dr. Rebecca Bernstein (GMTO, Carnegie Observatories)

An update on GMT and the full story on AO for the ELTs

Tuesday, May 3, 2022 - 11:00am
Tuesday, May 10, 2022 - 12:00pm
Tuesday, May 17, 2022 - 11:00am
Tuesday, May 24, 2022 - 11:00am

Prof. Ray Carlberg (University of Toronto)

Globular Clusters and Dark Matter (sub) Halos

Tuesday, May 31, 2022 - 11:00am

Prof. Louise Edwards (Cal Poly SLO)

Galaxies Evolution in Cluster Cores and Outskirts

Tuesday, June 7, 2022 - 11:00am
Tuesday, August 2, 2022 - 11:00am

Dr. Chervin Laporte (University of Barcelona)

TBD