Seminar

Mapping the Milky Way's assembly using stars as tools

Tuesday, January 26, 2021 - 1:00pm
Prof. Melissa Ness (Columbia University)

Galactic archaeology has entered a remarkable era, with Gaia and an ensemble of spectroscopic surveys providing chemical abundances and velocities for millions of stars.

6D Stellar Streams in the Southern Sky

Friday, January 29, 2021 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm
Nora Shipp (University of Chicago)

Stellar streams, the tidal remnants of accreted globular clusters and dwarf galaxies, are uniquely powerful tools for studying the Milky Way.

TBD

Tuesday, February 2, 2021 - 11:00am
Dr. Eric Pellegrini (Heidelberg)

TBD

Friday, February 5, 2021 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm
Siddharth Mishra-Sharma (NYU)

TBD

Tuesday, February 9, 2021 - 11:00am
Dr. Thomas Connor (JPL)

TBD

Friday, February 12, 2021 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm
Keir Rogers (Toronto)

TBD

Friday, February 19, 2021 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm
Marziye Jafariyazani (Carnegie)

TBD

Friday, February 26, 2021 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm
Trevor Dorn-Wallenstein (University of Washington)

TBD

Friday, March 5, 2021 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm
Yuguang Chen (Caltech)

TBD

Tuesday, March 9, 2021 - 11:00am
Dr. Brian Nord (Fermilab)

Pages