Lunch talk

The Carnegie Observatories “Lunch Talk” Seminar Series is held on Friday’s from 12:15pm to 1:00pm. Unless otherwise noted, talks are on Fridays at 12:15PM in the auditorium at 813 Santa Barbara Street - bring lunch!

You can find a listing of previous lunch talks here. Recordings of the lunch talks are available for Carnegie scientists here. Publicly available recordings are listed below.

The Lunch Talk Series is open to speakers in all areas of astronomy and astrophysics. The Fall Series (September through December) focuses on graduate students and postdocs who are actively seeking Postdoctoral Fellowship positions.

This year, we will begin accepting requests for Fall talks starting July 15, and will begin issuing invitations starting August 14. Note that the 2020 Fall series will be conducted remotely via Zoom this year due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

You can nominate yourself to give a talk, or nominate students or postdocs using this form. Or you can simply email the seminar series organizer, Andrew Benson (abenson@carnegiescience.edu) to request a talk.

When in-person talks resume, Carnegie Observatories has funding designated for supporting the travel costs of Black, Latinx, and Indigenous visitors. If this is applicable, please check the box in the nomination form, or note this in your email. (Note that speakers are welcome to give a remote talk even if in-person talks have resumed.)

Clicking the title links to the abstract.

Date

Speaker

Video URL

Friday, September 4, 2020 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm
Friday, September 11, 2020 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm
Friday, September 18, 2020 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm
Friday, September 25, 2020 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm
Friday, October 2, 2020 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Friday, October 9, 2020 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm
Friday, October 16, 2020 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm
Friday, October 23, 2020 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm
Friday, November 6, 2020 - 12:15pm to 1:00pm
Friday, November 13, 2020 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm

Sebastian Gomez (Harvard)

Exotic Transients and How to Find Them

Friday, November 20, 2020 - 12:15pm to 1:00pm
Friday, December 4, 2020 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm
Friday, December 11, 2020 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm

Harshil Kamdar (Harvard)

TBD

Friday, January 22, 2021 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm

Jorge Zavala (University of Texas)

TBD